Linking you to your New York Ancestors

Search
Close this search box.

Long Island genealogy groups to offer programs in May

Organizations of the Genealogy Federation of Long Island will be offering free genealogy programs in May.

Tuesday, May 3 – “Introduction to U.S. Passport Applications” – Connetquot Public Library – 7-8:30 p.m –  In Person

Wednesday, May 4 – Were They Orphans at All? DNA and the Orphan Train – 10-11 a.m. – In Person

Patchogue-Medford Public Library

Thursday, May 5 – “The 1950 Census” – German Genealogy Group – 7:30-8:30 p.m. – Hybrid

Hicksville V.F.W.

Friday, May 6 – “Introduction to Japanese-American Research” – Brentwood Public Library – 2:30-3:30 p.m. – Virtual

To register, go to: https://brentwood.librarycalendar.com/event/introduction-japanese-american-research

Saturday, May 7  – “The 1950 Census” – Huntington Historical Society – 11 a.m. – In person

South Huntington Public Library

Wednesday, May 11 – “Researching Two Families Who Changed More Than Their Names” – Jewish Genealogy Society of Long Island – 7-8 p.m. – Virtual

Check the JGSLI website and Facebook page for link to the meeting.

Saturday, May 14 – “Tracing Immigrants Through the Port of New York” –  Italian Genealogical Group – 11 a.m. – noon – Virtual

Wednesday, May 18 – Genealogy Research Discussion Group10-11 a.m. – Virtual

Go to: https://pmlib.org/ and click on Events and Classes to register.

Thursday, May 19 – “DNA Segmentology” – German Genealogy Group – 7:30-8:30 p.m. – Virtual – Members Only

Saturday. May 21  – “Effects of the Civil War on Irish Immigrants” – Irish Family History Forum – hybrid

Bethpage Public Library

Friday, May 27 – “Introduction to Japanese-American Research” – Brentwood Public Library – 7-8:00 p.m. – Virtual

To register, go to: https://brentwood.librarycalendar.com/event/journey-through-chinese-genealogy

For more information on the Genealogy Federation of Long Island, go to: gfli.net

Check out our links to other New York genealogy societies at: https://www.newyorkgenlinks.com/genealogysocieties/

Verified by MonsterInsights